Community Working Group posts: 2022 Aaron Winborn Award Winner: Angie Byron

Drupal CMS

During DrupalCon Portland 2022, the members of the Drupal Community Working Group were pleased to announce the winner of the 2022 Aaron Winborn Award, Angie Byron (webchick).  

About Webchick

Angie joined the Drupal community in 2005 as a Google Summer of Code student, brand new to Drupal, having previously learned about it by “viewing source” on the SpreadFirefox website. Early on, she made her mark on the community by figuring out how to accomplish tasks and documenting them on (Her proudest documentation achievement is authoring the original Form API Reference.) Her relentless pursuit of knowledge and dedication to sharing that knowledge in this way led to an outpouring of admiration by others in the community since the beginning  of her Drupal career.

As she became more and more comfortable with Drupal and our community, her contributions continued to grow. She has been an unstoppable advocate for making Drupal a welcoming community for all; almost 250 community members list her as a mentor. 

Angie became a Drupal core committer in 2008 and has thousands of code contribution credits, over 500 documentation edits, and has contributed to the Drupal community in countless additional ways including being one of the founding members of the Community Working Group, a Security Team member, a site and content moderator, a Drupal Association Board member, and has spoken at many Drupal events around the world.

Angie started working for Lullabot in 2006 as a Senior Web Architect. In 2011, she joined Acquia as Director of Community Development, tasked with leading and participating in major community initiatives including the Great Git Migration, Drupal 7, 8, and 9 development, in addition to always being a strong advocate for improving the Drupal authoring process. 

Many Nominations

This year, there were 29 individuals nominated for the award. In the coming weeks, the CWG will be contacting all nominees to let them know of their nomination, sharing some details about what their nominators wrote about them, and thank them for their continued work in the community.

Multiple people nominated Angie for the 2022 Aaron Winborn Award. Here are a few of the things they said:

I don’t think there is anyone on the planet who has done more for Drupal and the community than Angie Byron. She has not only demonstrated all the values of this award, she embodies them.

I can’t think of anyone better to receive the Aaron Winborn Award this year than Angie. She is without a doubt one of our greatest community members for her constant above-and-beyond commitment to the project and the community … She has always put the project and community first and made sure that people get involved and integrated at all levels. We are lucky to have her in our community.

In addition to the physical award given to Angie, she was also provided with a free ticket to DrupalCon Portland as well as travel expenses. The physical award was hand-crafted by Drupal community member Caroline Achee (cachee).  

About the Aaron Winborn Award

The award is named after a long-time Drupal contributor who lost his battle with ALS in 2015. This award recognizes an individual who, like Aaron, demonstrates personal integrity, kindness, and an above-and-beyond commitment to the Drupal project and community.

Previous winners of the award are Cathy Theys, Gabór Hojtsy, Nikki Stevens, Kevin Thull, Leslie Glynn, Baddý Breidert, and AmyJune Hineline. Current CWG members, along with previous winners, selected the winner based on nominations submitted by Drupal community members.

Nominations for the 2023 award will open in early 2023.